Book review: The Storyteller of Marrakesh by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

This book took me several months to read, and for a long time (during which I remained stuck close to the start of the book) I thought I might give up. It’s a tale told by a storyteller, with the help of several bystanders, about the disappearance of two strangers from the central square some time ago. I found the multiplicity of narrators, and the way it was presented as a narrative, rather distancing, and so I didn’t become addicted to it in the way I do with so many books. However, the writing is very good, and the story is cleverly presented. When I wasn’t surrounded by distractions, and was able to read for a few hours at a time, it was very engaging and atmospheric. It is very different from most of the novels I’ve read, and for that reason alone I would recommend it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

