Sometimes you get effervescence, sometimes you go splat

I recently challenged myself to start writing every day. Just 250 words, to try to make sure I don’t just completely stall out on things (which has a distressing tendency to happen). The idea is that by slowly crunching through things I will ensure I make some progress on something. Unfortunately, due to having come down with yet another cold (hello immune system where are you?), I do not necessarily have the brainpower for certain types of writing. And so we come to today, when all I have the energy to do it write a mediocre blog post. You’re welcome, world!

Interestingly, the more serious the piece, the less the state of my brain seems to matter. The ability to conjure up the feelings surrounding betrayal and despair are not really impeded by my brain currently being composed of 90% snot. But if I’m trying to write with charming frivolity, I feel like a 300 pound gorilla who has been dressed in a tutu and told to perform Swan Lake. It just isn’t going to happen, and if it did I would regret it (possibly there are a subset of gorilla-ballet enthusiasts who wouldn’t. Weirdos.). You will also note that my punctuation choices become what can only be termed esoteric.

Which is all a long-winded way of saying that I haven’t been very productive recently. I still have a few words to go, so I’ll just keep going until I hit the

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes you get effervescence, sometimes you go splat

  1. I have to admit, I now have an image of you dressed I a gorilla suit, wearing a tutu and doing ballet. Needless to say it is a very bizarre image! Get well soon and go see deadpool (and write a review for it) will be curious what you think of the film!

    Like

Leave a Reply

